Pennsylvania Legal Aid Network Announces 2009 Excellence Award Winners

The Pennsylvania Legal Aid Network is proud to announce the recipients of its 2009 Excellence Awards.

The list includes a variety of civil legal aid professionals and friends of civil legal aid across Pennsylvania who are being recognized for their efforts in support of the clients served by the programs of the Pennsylvania Legal Aid Network.

Individuals selected for recognition include:

  • Karen Detamore, Esq.
    Executive Director, Friends of Farmworkers, Inc.
  • Joseph K. Goldberg, Esq.
    Harrisburg, PA
  • Brian Hudson
    Executive Director, Pennsylvania Housing Finance Agency
  • Catherine T. Martin, Esq.
    Managing Attorney, Neighborhood Legal Services Association
  • Kathy J. Parks
    Paralegal, MidPenn Legal Services
  • Elizabeth C. Price
    Executive Director, Delaware County Bar Association
  • Catherine Rusk
    Paralegal, North Penn Legal Services
  • Richard Weishaupt, Esq.
    Senior Attorney, Community Legal Services

Also being recognized with Excellence Awards are the Honorable Darnell Jones, Judge, U.S. District Court of Eastern District of PA (and former President Judge of the Court of Common Pleas, Philadelphia County), and the Honorable Annette Rizzo, Judge, Court of Common Pleas, Philadelphia County, for their work relating to the groundbreaking Residential Mortgage Foreclosure Diversion Pilot Program that was implemented in the Court of Common Pleas of Philadelphia County in 2008.

The HomeWorks Project will also be receiving an award for a unique and innovative collaboration between Regional Housing Legal Services and the Pennsylvania Health Law Project to develop a supportive housing project tailored to the needs of a group of disabled individuals.

Individuals being recognized in connection with the HomeWorks Project include David Gates, Esq., PA Health Law Project and Kim Dolan, Esq., Regional Housing Legal Services, as well as the residents of the project, Kevin Alston, Michael Anderson and William Keech.

The 2009 Excellence Awards will be presented at the annual awards dinner on Tuesday, March 31, 2009, at the Harrisburg Hilton & Towers. The evening's keynote speaker will be The Honorable Marjorie O. Rendell, Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit.

A social hour will take place from 5:00 PM to 6:00 PM, followed by a buffet dinner. Cost for the dinner is $45 per person. Dinner reservations may be made and paid for online at the link below. VISA, MasterCard, American Express and Discover are all accepted by the online reservation system.

PLAN, Inc. is accepting event sponsorships and advertisements for the event program. Sponsorships and advertising may be submitted and paid for at the link below or by submitting the Sponsorship and Advertising Opportunity Form also linked below. For more information about sponsorship and advertising opportunities please contact Christine Kirby at or 412-586-6137.

Online Dinner Reservations and Sponsorship/Advertising Opportunities
Sponsorship and Advertising Opportunity Form

Sign up for our newsletter to stay informed about the latest news and updates!

Sign Up